X
GO
Responsive image

Some Examples of Our Work

The following books are examples of self-publishing projects from a small selection of our authors. 
Most of our books are available through the major bookselling channels including Amazon and Book Depository. 


Archive by category: Literature & Literary StudiesReturn
Anglo Saxon Prose

Anglo Saxon Prose

Book Description: Handed down through generations of storytellers, the popular tales of Anglo-Saxon England herald the birth of a national literature in which the language of the people, rather than the Latin of scholars, came into its own.

Written down by kings, scribes and saints, these tales are a rich cross-section of early English life: peace-treaty, trial by ordeal, a witch’s drowning. The story of Saint Guthlac presents an often humorous account of trials and tribulations endured by a moody young nobleman converted to the contemplative life of a hermit in East Anglia. Great figures of the past and their brave deeds were King Alfred’s inspiration when he embarked on his series of historical and philosophical writings; these included a vivid account of the English seafarers’ adventures in the Arctic North. Practical advice is given to estate managers, and on gem-stones, on herbal remedies, or the development of the foetus. Apollonius is a forerunner of the great medieval romances, whilst there are instructions on the sign language to be used by dumb monks; lists of religious relics. A unique collection, with introduction and notes.

Publisher: The Choir Press

ISBN: 9781910864746

Price: £12.99

Format: Pbk

Height (mm): 229

Width (mm): 152

Pages: 358

Author(s): Michael Swanton

Slow Train To Suburbia

Slow Train To Suburbia

Book Description: In the blistering summer of 1911, City stockbroker George Chesshyre moves his family to a new house in south London. George looks forward to a life of domestic bliss but a continuous chain of events conspires against him and his yearned for reverie is repeatedly thwarted and dashed by the arrival of cantankerous and odd relatives, unexpected animals and a merciless drain on his wallet. Not helped by the unceasing, debilitating heat of one of the hottest summers on record, George battles to and from the City each day on the ‘Slow Train to Suburbia’. As the year progresses and the autumn leaves fall, a procession of colourful characters adds, by turn, hilarity and heartbreak, culminating in a riotous Christmas Day, a fitting climax to an event-filled year.

In ‘Slow Train to Suburbia’ the author paints a sympathetic and nostalgic picture of life in the suburbs before the First World War. The world is rapidly changing and old certainties are fading fast. The dying embers of the Edwardian age are captured beautifully in the situations, characters and prose, and will leave a deep and lasting impression in the memories and imaginations of everyone who reads and enjoys this unusual novel.

Publisher: The Choir Press

ISBN: 9781910864630

Price: £7.99

Format: Pbk

Height (mm): 203

Width (mm): 127

Pages: 260

Author(s): Charles Webb

A Gathering of Warriors

A Gathering of Warriors

Book Description: Separated by culture and tradition, continents and centuries, the travellers in this sweeping tale share a common purpose. Follow their adventures as they battle outer enemies along with the inner demons of doubt, fear, and the desire for vengeance. Walk with them as they journey from the mountains of China to the deserts of Arabia, through the shifting sands of Egypt to the Plains of North America, in their quest to reach the Gathering of Warriors in the space where Time and Eternity meet, and where Oneness and Peace are all in All. "Fans of Paulo Coelho and Carlos Castaneda will love this book" - Susan Hepburn, author of Voices in Darkness.

Publisher: Engares Publishing

ISBN: 9780955763816

Price: £7.95

Format: Pbk

Height (mm): 216

Width (mm): 140

Pages: 180

Author(s): George Vigileos

The Late Mr Collins A Pride and Prejudice Sequel

The Late Mr Collins A Pride and Prejudice Sequel

Book Description: 'There have been other sequels during the past few years to Austen's masterly Pride and Prejudice, but few have the pacy and truly entertaining plot that this one enjoys. After the death in unexplained circumstances of the unlovable Mr Collins, Elizabeth and Darcy call in a 19th century Miss Marples figure to help solve the mystery. As the story unfolds we revisit old favourites: the scatty Mrs Bennett and the dry-as-a-stick wit of Mr Bennett (who is a chief suspect), but we also discover far more about the backgrounds of original characters like Lady Catherine de Bourgh in such an entertaining and novel way that one could imagine Austen thinking 'I wish I'd thought of that!' Great beach and bedtime reading'... Mary S. Lovell bestselling author of The Mitford Girls, Bess of Hardwick and The Churchills.

Publisher: The Choir Press

ISBN: 9781909300330

Price: £7.99

Format: Pbk

Height (mm): 203

Width (mm): 127

Pages: 226

Author(s): Jennifer Riggs

Ghostdancing in Venice

Ghostdancing in Venice

Book Description: This book is about life, visions, dreams. Ancient memories, spiritual traditions, magic; exploring what is real, Oneness. A blend of new and old age spirituality, examined through the inner journey, those real and life changing experiences. Life is a paradox, or is it? The story is about all this and more.

Publisher: Engares Publishing

ISBN: 9780955763809

Price: £8.00

Format: Pbk

Height (mm): 216

Width (mm): 140

Pages: 240

Author(s): George Vigileos

What Our Customers Think

"Searching the net for a publisher for my poems, I came across the Choir Press. That was five years ago and since then I have written five poetry books and cherish every one of them."

Richard Maitland. Author; Runaways, Adventures with Words, What Larks, Anchors Aweigh and Northern Lights